In This Section:

share this page

NutRI Research Group

NutRI - delivering innovative solutions to global challenges in food, nutrition and health through direct engagement with industry and society.

NutRI is a multidisciplinary research group comprised of Nutrition Scientists, Food Scientists, Microbiologists and Biomedical Scientists. The group was established by researchers in the Department of Biological Sciences at Cork Institute of Technology to facilitate knowledge exchange, collaboration and gaining a deeper understanding of the role of food and nutrition in human health.

At NutRI we focus on delivering innovative solutions to emerging global challenges in food, nutrition and health through research in three key areas

  1. Food Innovation
  2. Food Microbiology
  3. Public Health Nutrition

Our expertise and scholarly interests are in the areas of food bioactives, new product development, food safety, food derived anti-microbials, healthy aging, intervention trials and nutrition surveillance. We are committed to research with significant societal and industrial impact.

 

NutRI is funded by national and international research programs, including:

  • Irish Research Council
  • Enterprise Ireland
  • Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine
  • CIT Rísam Scholarship
  • Health Research Board
  • Marine Institute (Cullen Fellowship)

 

Collaboration with academic and industry partners is at the forefront of NutRI. Our partners include:

  • Kerry Group
  • Health Innovation Hub Ireland
  • Nestle 
  • University College Cork
  • Teagasc 
  • University of Limerick
  • Health Service Executive (HSE)
  • University College Dublin
  • University of Bari
  • University of Leuven
  • Dublin City University

 

Study Opportunities

Opportunities exist to become a part of our vibrant research community.  In NutRI, you will work as part of a collaborative team of researchers with common research interests and establish a valuable network of connections to build your professional career upon.

 

Collaborative Opportunities

Our expert, multidisciplinary research team delivers innovative solutions to real-world problems in food industry and population health. NutRI can help you take innovative research to the next level. Our expert scientists are experienced in technology transfer, commercialisation and working with funding agencies and welcome collaborative opportunities.

Our researchers have driven funded research in the following areas:

  • Food bioactivity, digestibility and bioavailability
  • Food safety
  • Novel infant formula ingredients
  • Population dietary assessments
  • Supporting healthy aging through nutrition
  • Malnutrition and frailty

 

Contact Information

If you are interested in finding about more about NutRI, our research areas, current opportunities or how we can work with your company to drive innovation, email nutri@cit.ie.  

 

Social Media 

Follow us on Twitter @NutRI_CIT

 

mEET THE TEAM 

 Dr Aoife McCarthy, Head of NutRI Group, aoife.mccarthy@cit.ie

 Dr Fiona O'Halloran, Food Innovation Theme Leader, fiona.ohalloran@cit.ie 

 Dr Máire Begley, Food Microbiology Theme Leader, maire.begley@cit.ie

 Dr Janette Walton, Public Health Nutrition Theme Leader, janette.walton@cit.ie

 Dr Annmarie Burns, Researcher NutRI Group, annmarie.burns@cit.ie

 Dr Michael Callanan, Researcher NutRI Group, michael.callanan@cit.ie

 Prof. Aidan Coffey, Researcher NutRI Group, aidan.coffey@cit.ie

Dr Caitriona Guinane, Researcher NutRI Group, caitriona.guinane@cit.ie

 Dr Craig Murphy, Researcher NutRI Group, craig.murphy@cit.ie

 Dr Helen O'Shea, Researcher NutRI Group, helen.oshea@cit.ie

 Prof. Roy Sleator, Researcher NutRI Group, roy.sleator@cit.ie

 Dr Helena Stack, Researcher NutRI Group, helena.stack@cit.ie